We use cookies to give you the best experience possible. By continuing we’ll assume you’re on board with our cookie policy

Hey there, Don't forget to log in and join the conversation Log in


Asian events
Event forums > Asian events > Ultra-Trail Mt. Fuji (UTMF) View modes: 
User avatar
Advanced member
Advanced member
SarahCrunning - 25/04/2018 22:19:36
Ultra-Trail Mt. Fuji (UTMF)
UTMF takes place this weekend. On Friday, 2684 runners from 32 countries will aim to complete either 170km or 92km on the trails, paths and forest roads around the foothills of Mt. Fuji. The 170km event contains 8000 metres of ascent and has a cut-off of 46 hours. Runners will start in Fujisan Kodomo-no-Kuni and finish in Ohike Kouen. The longer race requires 12 ITRA points, and the shorter race requires 5 points. This is certainly not easy terrain, and last year's race was shortened due to the extremely heavy downpours.

The race has the rules and regulations you would expect for a mountain event. It is also the first time I have come across a race regulation requiring entrants to carry and use a portable toilet!

According to the race's press release, this year's favourite to win the women's race is Japan's Kaori Niwa - she is a UTMF veteran and was 4th in UTMB. Other contenders include Courtney Dauwalter who recently broke the USA's women's 24 hour distance record.

In the men's race, last year's champion Dylan Bowman (USA) has to be a favourite. He may face a strong challenge from Spain's Pau Capell who has recently won Transgrancanaria and was 6th in last year's UTMB.

We will keep you updated!
Sarah Cooke

User avatar
Advanced member
Advanced member
SarahCrunning - 29/04/2018 22:30:31
RE:Ultra-Trail Mt. Fuji (UTMF)
Despite safety warnings regarding an extreme drop in temperature and of bears on the course, there were some phenomenal performances this weekend, and the USA topped the podiums. The men's race was closely fought, whereas Courtney Dauwalter won the women's race with a phenomenal lead of over 2 hours. She came in with a sub 24 hour time and was 16th overall. These were the podium finishers in the 170km event:

1. Dylan Bowman (USA) - 19:21:21
2. Pau Capell (Spain) - 19:24:51
3. Seth Swanson (USA) - 20:44:29

1. Courtney Dauwalter (USA) - 23:57:48
2. Kaori Niwa (Japan) - 26:00:29
3. Kaori Asahara (Japan) - 26:30:40
Sarah Cooke


29 user(s) on-line: 0 registered and 29 guests